This portal ( ) is now deprecated and not updated any longer.

Print Friendly

[Solutions]- The 10 PM Daily Quiz – 27 July, 2016



Q.1 Which of the following state does not come under AFSPA:

a) Jammu and Kashmir

b) Manipur

c) Tripura

d) Meghalaya

Ans: c) AFSPA has been lifted from Tripura

States are under AFSPA right now:

Assam, Nagaland, Manipur (except the Imphal municipal area), Arunachal Pradesh (only the Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts plus a 20-km belt bordering Assam), Meghalaya (confined to a 20-km belt bordering Assam) and Jammu and Kashmir.


Q.2 Consider the following statements:

1. Natural gas hydrates are a naturally occurring, ice-like combination of natural gas and water found in oceans.

2. Gas hydrate resources in India occur in Western, Eastern and Andaman offshore areas.

Identify the correct statement:

a) 1 only

b) 2 only

c) 1 and 2

d) None of these

Ans: c) Both the statements are true: Refer to the news : Click here


Q.3 ‘Antrix’ recently in news is a:

a) New satellite developed by ISRO

b) ISRO’s commercial arm

c) A joint space venture between India and USA

d) None of these

Ans:b) Self explanatory


Q.4 High level committee to recommend reforms in Medical Council of India and AICTE is headed by:

a) Arvind Panagariya

b) Kishor Biyani

c) C. Rangarajan

d) None of these

Ans: a) 

A High Level Committee (HLC) headed by Arvind Panagariya has been asked to prepare a plan for reforming two regulatory bodies in the field of education – Medical Council of India (MCI) and All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE)

  • The panel is about to recommend the scraping of MCI. It will be replaced by a National Medical Commission (NMC).
  • NMC will be the main regulatory body and will be taking over all the responsibilities of MCI.


Q.5 Which of the following country is not a part of South Asia Subregional Economic Cooperation (SASEC) programme?

a) Bangladesh

b) India

c) Nepal

d) Pakistan

Ans: d) 

In 2001, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, and Nepal formed the South Asia Subregional Economic Cooperation (SASEC) programme, later joined by Maldives and Sri Lanka in 2014.


Asian Development Bank is its secretariat.


These countries have worked together to build power plants, highways, rail systems and fiber optic networks to expand and improve Internet access.


Groupings six member-countries have undertaken 37 projects worth more than $6.75 billion in the past 15 years.

Print Friendly

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Q1 answer says “b” but Tripura is in option “c”

  • Psycho Knight