Adarsh Smarak Scheme

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 26th June. Click Here for more information.

Source: The Hindu

What is the news?

Recently, the fort at Gandikota was identified for development under the Centrally-sponsored ‘Adopt a Heritage’ programme. Further, 3 monuments – Nagarjuna Konda in Guntur district, the Buddhist remains at Salihundam in Srikakulam district and the Veerabhadra temple at Lepakshi in Anantapur district have been identified for development under ‘Adarsh Smarak’ scheme.

About Adarsh Smarak scheme
  • Ministry: Ministry of Culture
  • The scheme was launched in 2014 for providing improved visitor amenities, especially for the physically challenged, besides cleanliness, drinking water, and interpretation centres, cafeteria, souvenir shop, wi-fi, garbage disposal etc.
  • Objectives:
    • To make the monument accessible to differently-abled.
    • To make monument visitor friendly.
    • Furthermore, to implement Swachh Bharat Abhiyan.
    • Also, to upgrade/provide washrooms, drinking water, signages, cafeteria, and wi-fi facilities.
    • To provide interpretation and audio-video centers.
    • To streamline wastewater and garbage disposal and a rainwater harvesting system.
    • Lastly, to provide safety and protection
About Adopt a Heritage scheme
  • An initiative of the Ministry of Tourism in collaboration with the Ministry of Culture and the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI)
  • Under this scheme, the government invites entities, including public sector companies, private sector firms and individuals, to develop selected monuments and heritage and tourist sites.
  • Basic amenities like drinking water, ease of access for the differently-abled and senior citizens, standardised signage, cleanliness, public convenience, surveillance system and night-viewing facilities are provided and maintained under the scheme.
  • Read more about adopt a heritage scheme here
Print Friendly and PDF