ISRO announces Vikram Sarabhai Journalism Award

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 18th June. Click Here for more information.

  1. ISRO has announced its Vikram Sarabhai Journalism Awards in Space Science,Technology and Research.
  2. The award aims to recognize and reward journalists who have actively contributed towards the field of space science, applications and research.
  3. The nominations are open to all Indians who have a good experience in journalism.The articles published from 2019 to 2020 will be considered.
  4. Vikram Sarabhai was an Indian scientist and innovator widely regarded as the father of India’s space programme.
  5. Indian government had set up the Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR) in 1962 based on his recommendation.
  6. The INCOSPAR was restructured and renamed as Indian Space Research Organisation(ISRO) in 1969.
  7. Vikram Sarabhai has also played an important role in the launch of the first Indian satellite Aryabhata which was put in orbit in 1975 from a Russian cosmodrome.

Print Friendly and PDF