Cabinet Committees and Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS)

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 18th June. Click Here for more information.

Source-This post on Cabinet Committees and Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS)has been created based on the article “What are Cabinet committees, and why is the CCS the most important of them all?” published in “Indian Express” on 11 June 2024.

Why in News?

In the event of formation of government, appointments to important portfolios like Home, Defence, Finance, and External Affairs is ongoing. In this regard, it is important to know of the significance of the Cabinet Committee on Security.

About Cabinet Committees

1. Formation and Function: After the Union Cabinet is sworn in and ministerial portfolios are assigned, the Prime Minister sets up Cabinet Committees with selected Cabinet members.

These committees are given specific tasks. The Prime Minister can change the number of committees and their functions.

2. All cabinet committees, except the Cabinet Committee on Accommodation and the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs, are headed by the Prime Minister.

3. These committees are extra-constitutional, meaning they are not explicitly mentioned in the Constitution. They are established based on the Rules of Business.

2. Members: It usually has three to eight members, mainly Cabinet ministers. However, non-Cabinet ministers can also be members or special invitees.

3. Role: It solves issues, create proposals for the Cabinet to consider, and make decisions on assigned matters. The Cabinet can review these decisions.

4. Composition: The CCS is chaired by the Prime Minister and includes the ministers for Finance, Defence, Home Affairs, and External Affairs.

5. Types of Cabinet Committees:

  1. Appointments Committee of the Cabinet
  2. Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA)
  3. Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs (CCPA)
  4. Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth
  5. Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS)
  6. Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs
  7. Cabinet Committee on Employment & Skill Development
  8. Cabinet Committee on Accommodation

About Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS)

i) The Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) is chaired by the Prime Minister. Other members include: Ministers of Defence, Home Affairs, Finance and External Affairs.

iii) The primary functions of the CCS include:

1. National Security: Formulating and coordinating policies concerning national security and defense. This includes both internal and external security matters.

2. Defense Policy: Overseeing and directing defense policy, including decisions related to defense procurement, the development of indigenous defense capabilities, and the overall strategic posture of the country.

3. Strategic Planning: Making critical decisions on matters involving India’s strategic interests, including nuclear weapons and missile programs.

4. Counter-Terrorism: Formulating and implementing policies to counter-terrorism and ensuring the coordination of intelligence agencies and security forces in this regard.

iv) The committee meets as required to discuss and make decisions on urgent and strategic matters pertaining to the security of India.

UPSC Syllabus: Polity and nation

Print Friendly and PDF