India Elected Unopposed To Non-Permanent Seat Of UN Security Council

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 26th June. Click Here for more information.

News: India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council(UNSC) for a two-year term.


  • The United Nations Charter established six main organs of the United Nations including the United Nations Security Council(UNSC).
    • Other organs are UNGA, ECOSOC, Trusteeship Council, ICJ and UN secretariat.
  • UNSC is composed of 15 Members:
    • Five permanent members: China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States.
    • Ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly.
  • Powers:
    • The only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions to member states. 
    • Determines the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression and recommends what action should be taken.
    • Power to call on Members to apply economic sanctions and other measures not involving the use of force to prevent or stop aggression.
    • Can suspend economic and diplomatic relations between countries, impose blockades and can authorize collective military action.
Print Friendly and PDF