Pritzker Architecture Prize

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 26th June. Click Here for more information.

Source-This post on Pritzker Architecture Prize has been created based on the article “The ‘Architecture Nobel’: Why Pritzker laureate Riken Yamamoto’s work stands out” published in “The Indian Express” on 8th March 2024.

Why in the news?

Japanese architect Riken Yamamoto was declared the winner of the Pritzker Architecture Prize 2024.

About Pritzker Architecture Prize

Winners of the Pritzker Prize in Architecture
Source: Thoughtco
DescriptionIt is the highest distinction in the field of architecture, also referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Architecture”.
Established by
It was instituted by Jay A. Pritzker and his wife Cindy in 1979.
PurposeTo recognize architects whose work has a consistent impact on both humans and the built environment.
Nominated bya) The winner is picked from a list of more than 500 nominated candidates on average.
b) They are nominated by experts including past laureates, academics, and professionals, who make visits to sites of the projects.
Award Componentsa) Cash Award: The winner receives a $100,000 cash award.
b) Certificate: A formal certificate acknowledging their achievement.
c) Bronze Medallion: The medal design is influenced by architect Louis Sullivan.
Note: Louis Sullivan is the Chicago architect known as the father of the skyscraper.
Previous Indian LaureateIn 2018, Balkrishna Doshi who was an Indian architect received this prestigious award. He is the only Indian to get this award.

UPSC Syllabus: Miscellaneous

Print Friendly and PDF