Q. Consider the following statements regarding the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO):
1.Both India and Pakistan are members of SCO.
2.The SCO is governed by the Heads of State Council (HSC).
3.French is one of its official languages.
4.The decision within the SCO is made through majority vote.
How many of the statements given above are correct?

[A] Only one

[B] Only two

[C] Only three

[D] All four

Answer: B

Explanation –

Statements 1 and 2 are correct. Both India and Pakistan became full members of the SCO. The Heads of State Council (HSC) is the supreme decision-making body of the SCO.

Statements 3 and 4 are incorrect. The Russian and Chinese are the official languages of the SCO. The SCO bodies take decisions by agreement without vote and their decisions shall be considered adopted if no member State has raised objections during its consideration (consensus). Decisions are taken through consensus rather than majority voting. SCO’s secretariat is in Beijing, China. It is a regional cooperation forum.

Source: The Hindu