Q. Consider the following statements regarding United Nation Security Council
1. The council’s presidency always remains with the permanent members
2. The council is headquartered at New York.
Which of the above statements is/are correct?

[A] 1 only

[B] 2 only

[C] Both 1 and 2

[D] Neither 1 nor 2

Answer: B

Recently, India assumed the presidency of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for the month of August 2021. 

About UNSC: 

The UN Security Council is one of the UN’s 6 main organs. The other 5 organs are; the General Assembly, the Trusteeship Council, the Economic and Social Council, the International Court of Justice, and the Secretariat. It is aimed at maintaining international peace and security. It held its first session on 17 January 1946 in Westminster, London.  

Headquarters:  New York, United States  

Members Countries: The UNSC has 15 members consisting of permanent and non-permanent members. 

Presidency: The Presidency of the UNSC rotates alphabetically among 15 members every month. 

Source: The Indian Express