Q. Consider the following statements regarding “Zonal Councils”:
1. They are established under States Reorganization Act, 1956.
2. Act divided the country into five zonal councils.
3. The Prime Minister is the chairman of the zonal councils.
Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

[A] 1 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 2 and 3 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3

Answer: B

The Zonal Councils are the statutory (and not the constitutional) bodies. They are established by an Act of the Parliament, that is, States Reorganisation Act of 1956.  

  • The act divided the country into five zones (Northern, Central, Eastern, Western and Southern) and provided a zonal council for each zone.  
  • Each zonal council consists of the following members: (a) home minister of Central government. (b) Chief Ministers of all the States in the zone. (c) Two other ministers from each state in the zone. (d) Administrator of each union territory in the zone.  
  • The home minister of Central government is the common chairman of the five zonal councils.  
  • Each chief minister acts as a vice-chairman of the council by rotation, holding office for a period of one year at a time. 

Source: Laxmikanth