Q. “Karewas”, thick deposits of glacial clay are found in which sub-division of the Himalayas?

[A] Sikkim Himalayas

[B] Eastern Hills

[C] Northwestern Himalayas

[D] All of the above

Answer: C


  • The Himalayas are not only a physical barrier, but they are also a climatic, drainage and cultural divide. There are large scale variations within the Himalayas. Based on relief, alignment of ranges and other geomorphologic features, the Himalayas can be divided into following sub-divisions:
  1. Kashmir or Northwestern Himalayas
  2. Himachal and uttarakhand Himalayas
  3. Darjiling and Sikkim Himalayas
  4. Arunachal Himalayas
  5. Eastern Hills and Mountains
  • The Kashmir or North-Western Himalayas is a mountainous grassland and shrubland ecoregion found in the heights of Kashmir or the northwestern part of Indian Himalayas. The Karakoram, Ladakh, Zanskar, and Pir Panjal are some of the ranges that make up this region.
  • The world-renowned Kashmir valley and the famed Dal Lake are located between the Great Himalayas and the Pir Panjal range.
  • This region also has important South Asian glaciers such as the Baltoro and Siachen.
  • The Kashmir Himalayas is also known for the Karewa formations, which are used to grow Zafran, a local saffron type.

Source: Class 11th NCERT