Q. Which of the following disease (s) is/are covered under The National Vector Borne Disease Control Programme?
1. Malaria
2. Kala-azar
3. Chikungunya
Select the correct answer using the codes given below:

[A] 1 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 2 and 3 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3

Answer: D

Directorate of National Vector Borne Disease Control Programme (NVBDCP) is the central nodal agency for prevention and control of six vector borne diseases (VBDs) i.e. Malaria, Dengue, Lymphatic Filariasis, Kala-azar, Japanese Encephalitis and Chikungunya in India.  

  • It is part of the Technical Division of the Directorate General of Health Services, Government of India, equipped with Technical Experts in the field of Public Health, Entomology, Toxicology and parasitological aspects of Vector Borne Diseases.  
  • The Directorate is responsible for framing technical guidelines & policies as to guide the states for implementation of the above mentioned six diseases Programme strategies& is also responsible for budgeting and planning the logistics pertaining to GOI supply.  
  • Monitoring is done through regular reports and returns of MIS. The Directorate carries out evaluation of Programme implementation activities from time to time.  
  • The resource gap is also assessed as to provide an equitable support based on the magnitude of the problem and the available resources. 

Source: Agrahari