Q. Which of the following states are covered under the provisions of the Sixth Schedule of Indian Constitution?
1. Assam
2. Manipur
3. Tripura
4. Arunachal Pradesh
5. Mizoram
Select the correct answer using the code given below:

[A] 1 and 2 only

[B] 1, 2 and 3 only

[C] 1, 3 and 5 only

[D] 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

Answer: C

The Sixth Schedule consists of provisions for the administration of tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram, according to Article 244a of the Indian Constitution.  

  • Passed by the Constituent Assembly in 1949, it seeks to safeguard the rights of tribal population through the formation of Autonomous District Councils (ADC).  
  • ADCs are bodies representing a district to which the Constitution has given varying degrees of autonomy within the state legislature.    
  • The governors of these states are empowered to reorganize boundaries of the tribal areas. In simpler terms, she or he can choose to include or exclude any area, increase or decrease the boundaries and unite two or more autonomous districts into one.  
  • They can also alter or change the names of autonomous regions without a separate legislation.   

Source: Laxmikanth