Q. Which of the following states in India follow the Inner Line Permit (ILP)?
1. Arunachal Pradesh
2. Mizoram
3. Tripura
4. Manipur
Select the correct answer using the codes given below:

[A] 1, 2 and 3 only

[B] 2, 3 and 4 only

[C] 1, 2 and 4 only

[D] 1, 2, 3 and 4

Answer: C

Inner Line Permit is a concept drawn by colonial rulers; the Inner Line separated the tribal-populated hill areas in the Northeast from the plains.  

  • To enter and stay for any period in these areas, Indian citizens from other areas need an Inner Line Permit (ILP).  
  • The Inner Line protects Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Mizoram, and Manipur was added lately. 

Source: Indian Express