Q. Which of the following treaty/treaties is/are related to European Union?
1. Treaty of Lisbon
2. Treaty of Nice
3. Treaty of Amsterdam
Select the correct answer using the code given below:

[A] 1 only

[B] 1 and 2 only

[C] 2 only

[D] 1, 2 and 3

Answer: D

The European Union is based on the rule of law. This means that every action taken by the EU is founded on treaties that have been approved voluntarily and democratically by all EU member countries. A treaty is a binding agreement between EU member countries. It sets out EU objectives, rules for EU institutions, how decisions are made and the relationship between the EU and its member countries. The main treaties are: 

  • Treaty of Lisbon: Signed on 13 December 2007, to make the EU more democratic, more efficient and better able to address global problems, such as climate change, with one voice. 
  • Treaty of Nice: Signed on 26 February 2001, to reform the institutions so that the EU could function efficiently after reaching 25 member countries. 
  • Treaty of Amsterdam: Signed on 2 October 1997, to reform the EU institutions in preparation for the arrival of future member countries. 

Source: ForumIAS