Brazzaville Declaration

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 26th June. Click Here for more information.

Source: The post is based on the article “Brazzaville Declaration” published in “MEA” on 28th October 2023

Why in the News?

A Summit of Three basins is going to be held at Brazzaville, Republic of Congo.

What are these three basins?

Brazzaville Declaration

Three BasinsDetails
Congo Basin1) It is the second-largest tropical forest in the world in terms of area.
2) It spans across six countries—Cameroon, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.
Amazon basinIt is the largest tropical forest on the planet.
It extends over 9 countries in South America: Brazil, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, Bolivia, French Guiana, Suriname and the Republic of Guyana.
Borneo-Mekong-Southeast Asia BasinIt is the world’s third largest carbon sink.It is composed of two sub-regions, the island of Borneo and the Mekong River.
The Mekong River is one of the largest rivers in the world.It crosses six countries: China, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.
Borneo is the fourth largest island in the world.It is divided between Brunei, Malaysia and Indonesia.

What is the Brazzaville Declaration?

Signed in2018
Signed byDemocratic Republic of Congo(DRC), the Republic of Congo and Indonesia
ObjectiveTo protect the Cuvette Centrale region in the Congo Basin, the world’s largest tropical peatlands, from unregulated land use and prevent its drainage and degradation.

UPSC Syllabus: International Relations

Print Friendly and PDF