Explained: What is the Bodoland dispute, and who are the NDFB?

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 26th June. Click Here for more information.

News:The central government extended the ban on the Assam-based insurgent group National Democratic Front of Bodoland(NDFB) under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act,1967 by five more years.


About Bodoland Dispute:

  • Bodos are the single largest tribal community in Assam making up over 5-6% of the state’s population.They have controlled large parts of Assam in the past.
  • The Bodos have had a long history of separatist demands marked by armed struggle.They demanded for a separate state called Bodoland.
  • This demand led to the signing of Bodo Accord in 2003.The accord provides for the establishment of a Bodoland Territorial Council under Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India. 
  • The four districts in Assam namely Kokrajhar, Baksa, Udalguri and Chirang constitutes the Bodo Territorial Area District(BTAD).

About National Democratic Front of Bodoland(NDFB):

  • The National Democratic Front of Bodoland(NDFB) is an armed separatist outfit which seeks to obtain a sovereign Bodoland for the Bodo people.
  • It is designated as a terrorist organisation by the Government of India. NDFB traces its origin to Bodo Security Force, a militant group formed in 1986. 
  • The current name was adopted in 1994 after the group rejected Bodo Accord signed between the Government of India and ABSU-BPAC. 
  • The group has carried out several attacks in Assam targeting non-Bodo civilians as well as the security forces.

Additional information:

About Sixth Schedule of the Indian Constitution:

  • The Constitution of India makes special provisions for the administration of the tribal dominated areas in four states namely Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.
  • As per article 244 and 6th Schedule,these areas are called “Tribal Areas”,which are technically different from the Scheduled Areas under fifth schedule.
  • The Governors of these four states are empowered to declare some tribal dominated districts / areas of these states as autonomous districts and autonomous regions.
  • It provides for the creation of autonomous District and Regional Councils in these tribal areas and they enjoy a certain degree of administrative, legislative, judicial and financial autonomy.

Print Friendly and PDF