Nordic Baltic Cooperation

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 26th June. Click Here for more information.

Source-This post on Nordic Baltic Cooperation has been created based on the article “The NB8 visit to India focuses on cooperation and trust” published in “The Hindu” on 24 February 2024.

Why in the news?

The eight Nordic-Baltic countries are participating in the Raisina Dialogue in New Delhi together as representatives of the Nordic-Baltic cooperation.

About Nordic-Baltic cooperation

NB8 countries
DescriptionThe NB8 is a regional cooperation format that brings together the Nordic countries and the Baltic States.
In 2000, it was decided that the Nordic-Baltic cooperation format would be called Nordic-Baltic Eight (NB8).
ObjectiveTo discuss important regional and international issues in an informal atmosphere.
MembersIt comprises five Nordic countries:-
1) Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.
Three Baltic states:-
2) Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.
Are they member of European Union?They are members of the European Union except Iceland and Norway.
India and NB 8The Nordic-Baltic cooperation with India spans fields as diverse as innovation, green transition, maritime, health, intellectual property rights, new technologies, space cooperation etc.
Trade and investment figures between the Nordic region and India are steadily increasing.

Read more about-Nordic-Baltic countries.

UPSC Syllabus-International relations.

Print Friendly and PDF