How are disputes between states resolved in India?

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 26th June. Click Here for more information.

Source: The post is based on the article “How are disputes between states resolved in India?” published in Indian Express on 28th December 2022

What is the News?

The border dispute between Maharashtra and Karnataka is intensifying with both states hardening their stance.

The Maharashtra Assembly recently passed a unanimous resolution to support a legal battle to resolve the dispute. 

What is the Maharashtra-Karnataka border dispute?

Click Here to read

What are some of the other inter-state disputes in India?

The Union Government has said that there are border disputes mostly arising out of claims and counter-claims over territories. At present, there are disputes between Assam-Meghalaya; Assam-Nagaland; Assam-Mizoram; Assam-Arunachal Pradesh and Maharashtra-Karnataka.

What are the methods to resolve disputes between States in India?

Centre working as mediator: Attempts are often made to resolve inter-state disputes with the cooperation of both sides with the Centre working as a facilitator or a neutral mediator. If issues are resolved amicably, Parliament can bring a law to alter state boundaries such as the Bihar-Uttar Pradesh (Alteration of Boundaries) Act of 1968 and the Haryana-Uttar Pradesh (Alteration of Boundaries) Act of 1979.

Judicial redressal: The Supreme Court in its original jurisdiction under Article 131 decides disputes between states. 

Inter-state Council: Article 263 of the Constitution gives powers to the President to set up an Inter-state Council for the resolution of disputes between states. The Council is envisaged as a forum for discussion between the states and the Centre.

– In 2021, the Centre reconstituted the Inter-state Council and the body now has 10 Union Ministers as permanent invitees. The standing committee of the Council has been reconstituted with Home Minister as Chairman. The Finance minister and the Chief Ministers of Maharashtra, UP, and Gujarat are some of the other standing committee members.

Print Friendly and PDF