India in chair, UNSC adopts resolution on Taliban; Russia and China abstain

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 26th June. Click Here for more information.

Source: This post is based on the following articles:

  • “Under India’s presidency, UNSC adopts strong resolution on Afghanistan” published in TOI on 31st August 2021
  • “India in chair, UNSC adopts resolution on Taliban; Russia and China abstain” published in Indian Express on 1st September 2021
  • “UNSC resolution addresses “key resolution on Afghanistan”: India” published in The Hindu on 31st August 2021

Recently, The UN Security Council, under India’s Presidency, adopted Resolution 2593. The resolution was sponsored by France, UK & USA. Along with 13 other members, India voted in favour of the resolution. Amongst permanent ‘members’ Russia and China both abstained from voting.

Demands of Resolution 2593:
  • It demands that territories in Afghanistan should not be used to threaten or attack any country.
  • Afghanistan should not provide shelter or train terrorists. Also, it should not plan or finance any terrorist acts.
  • In compliance with Resolution 1267, it should emphasize combating terrorism in Afghanistan.
  • The resolution expects the Taliban to adhere to its commitments regarding the safe and orderly departure of Afghans and all foreign nationals from the country.
  • It emphasized the importance of maintaining humanitarian access, upholding human rights and reaching an inclusive political settlement.
What is UNSC?

UNSC is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations. It is charged with the maintenance of international peace and security. The organization has its headquarter in New York.

Structure of UNSC

It consists of fifteen members, which include 5 permanent members and 10 non-permanent members.

Permanent Members or P5: Russia, the United Kingdom, France, China, and the United States.

Non-permanent members: These are elected from different regions on a rotational basis to serve two-year terms.

Each year, the General Assembly elects five non-permanent members (out of ten in total) for a two-year term. The council’s presidency rotates every month amongst its 15 members.

Voting System
  • Veto Power: P5 members have a special voting power known as the “right to veto”. If any one of the P5 cast a negative vote in the 15-member Security Council, the resolution or decision would not be approved.
  • Each member of the Security Council has one vote. Decisions of the Security Council on matters are made by an affirmative vote of nine members including the concurring votes of the permanent members.
Read more: Why UNSC need reforms?


Terms to Know

Print Friendly and PDF