Prime Minister chairs 13th BRICS Summit

ForumIAS announcing GS Foundation Program for UPSC CSE 2025-26 from 26th June. Click Here for more information.

What is the news?

Indian PM chaired the 13th BRICS Summit, which was held virtually. The Summit stressed the need to prevent Afghanistan from being used as a staging ground for terrorist attacks against other countries, as well as a sanctuary for terrorists. The BRICS nations also collectively adopted the “New Delhi Declaration“.

The theme of the 13th BRICS Summit

The theme is BRICS@15: Intra-BRICS Cooperation for Continuity, Consolidation and Consensus. It is chosen by India.

What are the initiatives/key provisions of the New Delhi Declaration?

Terrorism: It suggested adopting a comprehensive approach for the whole international community to effectively curb terrorist activities.

BRICS Counter-Terrorism Action Plan: It is aimed at implementing the counter-terrorism strategy and defines the approach and actions of the five countries towards counter-terrorism cooperation. This includes ensuring coordinated efforts to understand, identify and collaboratively respond to persistent and emerging terrorist threats.

Space cooperation: BRICS countries signed an Agreement on Remote Sensing Satellite Constellation among the space agencies of BRICS countries.

Inclusive intra-Afghan dialogue”: Under it, leaders stressed the need to ensure peace, stability and order in Afghanistan. They also condemned the terrorist attacks at the Hamid Karzai International Airport.

In the declaration, they called for addressing the humanitarian situation in Afghanistan. They urged the need to uphold the rights of women, children and minorities.

International System: BRICS countries pledged “to promote a more inclusive, equitable and representative multipolar international system with the United Nations at its center.

Post-Covid Global Recovery: Indian PM urged for BRICS cooperation under the motto of ‘Build-back Resiliently, Innovatively, Credibly and sustainably’.

It stressed the need for accelerating:

‘Build-back’ by enhancing speed and accessibility of vaccination.

‘Resilience’ by diversifying pharma and vaccine production capacities beyond the developed world.

Fostering ‘innovation’ by creatively using digital tools for the public good, ensuring reform of multilateral institutions to enhance their ‘credibility’

Promoting ‘sustainable’ development by articulating a common BRICS voice on environmental and climate issues.


It is the acronym coined for an association of five major emerging national economies that have similar economic development. The five countries are Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.

The acronym was first used in 2001 by economist Jim O’Neill. Originally, the first four were grouped as “BRIC”. In 2010, South Africa was officially admitted as a BRIC nation. Thus, making the current acronym BRICS.

Structure of BRICS

The Chairmanship of the forum is rotated annually among the members, in accordance with the acronym BRICS.

Currently, India is holding the chairmanship of the BRICS. India was the chair in 2012 and 2016 too.

Read more: Its time to build BRICS better

Source: This post is based on the following articles:

  • “Prime Minister chairs 13th BRICS Summit” published in the PIB on 9th September 2021.
  • BRICS seeks inclusive Intra Afghan Dialogue” published in The Hindu on 9th September 2021.
  • “Must prevent use of Afghanistan soil as terror sanctuary: BRICS” published in the Times of India on 10th September 2021.
  • “BRICS calls for settling Afghan situation by peaceful means” published in the Livemint on 10th September 2021.
Print Friendly and PDF